Organization & Operations

Parliamentary Groups

In today’s democratic world and governments, political parties are the main constituents of political life. This is reflected on modern parliaments, where typically there are very few independent MPs. Most MPs are affiliated with a political group and elected as such, as names of candidates are listed on party lists and ballots. Οnce MPs assume office, they form Parliamentary Groups. A Parliamentary Group in the Hellenic Parliament should consist of at least ten (10) MPs who are members of the same party. Five (5) MPs should also suffice provided the party they belong to had ballots in at least two thirds (2/3) of the constituencies and got at least three percent (3%) of the total number of valid ballots in the country.

Provided he or she is an elected MP, a party leader presides over the respective Parliamentary Group. He may appoint up to two substitutes, though the President of the largest Parliamentary Group, the one which is actually in government, as well as the President of the major Opposition Party, may actually appoint up to three substitutes each. There are Parliament premises meant for the exclusive use of Parliamentary Groups and independent MPs. Parliamentary Groups (PGs) have their own administrative secretariats composed of revocable personnel. Surface area, number of offices, and the number of revocable staff working for Parliamentary Groups depend on their respective size and electoral strength. The President of the Parliamentary Group with the second highest majority in Parliament, i.e. head of the political party that is not in government, is referred to as Leader of the major Opposition, and enjoys special prerogatives, such as extra time to speak before the assembly.
The Hellenic Parliament's Web Portal uses cookies as specifically mentioned here