The Parliament is the supreme democratic institution that represents the citizens through an elected body of Members of Parliament (MPs). In the current composition the Parliament consists of 300 MPs, elected at the last general elections of September 20th, 2015.
Speaker of the Parliament is currently for the 17th Parliamentary Term, Mr Nikolaos Voutsis elected with SYRIZA (Coalition of the Radical Left). The Speaker presides over parliamentary sittings, is in charge of parliamentary functions and represents Parliament in international parliamentary organizations and bilateral inter-parliamentary sittings. Ηe is in charge of all Hellenic Parliament directorates, departments and divisions and coordinates their work and activities.


The institutional role of the Parliament in shaping Greek foreign policy is acknowledged in a series of Constitutional articles and clauses as well as in its Standing Orders.
Hellenic Parliament steadily promotes stronger links with other EU national parliaments and the European Parliament (EP). Given this framework, the Parliament is actively involved in meetings between EU national parliaments and the EP, exchanges views on significant European affairs and acquaints the aforementioned parliaments with its views.
Parliament capitalizes on parliamentary diplomacy for building ‘bridges’ in favor of stronger cooperation between people, bringing the people closer together and encouraging an exchange of views and ideas while forging ties of friendship and promoting the image of Greece abroad.