Int'l Relations : European Union

European Regional Cooperation Conferences and Partnerships

European Regional Cooperation, Conferences and Partnerships include, among others, PAM (Parliamentary Assembly of the Mediterranean, EMPA (Euro-Mediterranean Parliamentary Assembly), PABSEC (Black Sea Economic Cooperation Parliamentary Assembly), SEECP (South Eastern European Cooperation Process), AII (Adriatic-Ionian Initiative) etc.

The Adriatic-Ionian Initiative (AII)

The Adriatic-Ionian Initiative (AII) was established in 2000, in Ancona, Italy;  it concerns  the regional cooperation of 10 countries whose shores are bordered by the Adriatic and Ionian seas. The countries participating in the Initiative are the following: Greece, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, Albania, Bosnia –Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, North Macedonia, San Marino. Each of the participating countries holds by rotation the presidency for one year.

In the framework of cooperation, participating countries jointly work on action plans, mostly in the field of tourism, environmental protection, fishery, culture and scientific cooperation, urban networks, transport, small and medium-sized enterprises and forest protection.  Most programs usually involve co-operation projects coordinated by the competent ministries, yet they are implemented on the basis of initiatives by local authorities (regional authorities, cities, municipalities, universities, etc.)

The Speakers of the participating Parliaments meet once a year in the Conference taking place in the country holding the Presidency.  In the meantime, other sittings may be held to tackle specific issues.


Σύνδεσμος προς τη σχετική ιστοσελίδα

Δεν βρέθηκαν μέλη ελληνικής αντιπροσωπείας

Δεν βρέθηκαν δραστηριότητες

Επιστροφή >>
The Hellenic Parliament's Web Portal uses cookies as specifically mentioned here