Int'l Relations : Int'l Parliamentary Diplomacy & Activities

Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly (PACE)

The Council of Europe was established in 1949 as a result of historical developments and with a view to formally consolidating and institutionalizing European cooperation in the aftermath of WWII.

PACE aims at bringing member-countries closer together by promoting dialogue, signing agreements and adopting joint actions aimed primarily at protecting democratic institutions, the rule of law and human rights.
Its seat is in Strasbourg.

PACE brings together 47 member- countries: Albania, Andorra, Austria, Armenia Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bulgaria, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Moldavia, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, San Marino, Serbia, Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, FYROM, Turkey, Ukraine and the United Kingdom.
The key institutions of the Council of Europe are the Committee of Ministers, the Parliamentary Assembly and the Congress of Local and Regional Authorities which are assisted by the International Secretariat. A Secretary General, whom PACE elects for a 5-year term, is in charge of the Secretariat.

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe meets in Strasbourg, in plenary sessions, four times a year and Greek parliamentarians (regular and alternate members alike) attend its parliamentary proceedings. Throughout the year but also between plenary sittings, various PACE Committees convene to draft and examine reports which the next Plenum shall discuss.

Σύνδεσμος προς τη σχετική ιστοσελίδα
Έτος Ιδρύσεως: 1949

Δεν βρέθηκαν μέλη ελληνικής αντιπροσωπείας

Δεν βρέθηκαν δραστηριότητες

Επιστροφή >>