News & Info : Press Office

Press Office

Athens, January 22, 2020

Parliament Plenary Elects President Ekaterini Sakellaropoulou

Ms Ekaterini Sakellaropoulou was elected President of the Republic today at a Special Session of the Parliament Plenary , with sole agenda item the election of the President of the Republic.

Mrs Sakellaropoulou, nominated by the New Democracy parliamentary group, received two hundred and sixty-one (261) votes from  New Democracy,  Radical Left Coalition and Movement for Change MPs .

During the roll-call vote, a total of two hundred and ninety-four (294) Members voted. Thirty-three (33) voted  "Present", while six (6) Members were absent.

The new President of the Republic will take oath on Friday, March 13, 2020.

 High resolution images

The Hellenic Parliament's Web Portal uses cookies as specifically mentioned here