News & Info : Press Office

Press Office

Athens, 21 November 2022

Annual Session of NATO Parliamentary Assembly concludes

The work of the 68th Annual Session of the NATO Parliamentary Assembly, conducted in Madrid as of Friday, November 18, -starting with the election of the Assembly's officials-, was completed today. The Head of the Hellenic Parliament Delegation Spilios Livanos was elected vice-president of the Political Committee, while MP Andreas Loverdos was re-elected to the position of Vice-President of the Subcommittee on Future Possibilities in Defense and Security. French Senator Joelle Garriaud-Maylam was elected President of the Parliamentary Assembly.

Mr Jens Stoltenberg, NATO Secretary General, addressed the Plenary, describing in detail the Alliance’s New Strategic Doctrine, also elaborating upon the need to further strengthen its defense capabilities. With regard to the war in Ukraine, he emphasized that support to the Ukrainian people must continue.

Following his speech, the Secretary General of NATO answered questions, mostly related to the accession process of Sweden and Finland. Mr Manousos Voloudakis, member of the Hellenic Parliament delegation to the NATO PA, stressing that delay in the accession process is not due to procedural but political issues, wondered about the existence of specific concerns regarding two countries’ capacities to fight terrorism.

The President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelensky, delivered a video address to the Assembly; after extending his thanks over their continued support to Ukraine's struggle, he urged NATO member states to guarantee protection of Ukraine's nuclear power plants from Russian sabotage. He also called for new sanctions against Moscow and stressed the need for unity and cooperation between Ukraine and the international community to stop Russia and restore peace.

The NATO PA Plenary adopted six resolutions on the following topics:

  • Russia’s War on Ukaine: economic consequences and responses
  • Enhancing cyber resilience of Allied societies
  • Supporting NATO's Post-Summit Deterrence and Defense initiatives
  • The Corruption-Security nexus
  • NATO Post-Madrid
  • Climate Change and International Security: NATO’s agenda

The list of keynote speakers at the 68th Annual Meeting included the Prime Minister of Spain Pedro Sánchez, the Minister of Defense, Margarita Robles, the Minister of Foreign Affairs, José Manuel Albares, the Attorney General of Ukraine Andrei Kostin, the President of the Spanish Senate, Ander Gil and the President of the Spanish Parliament Meritxell Batet.

Members of the Greek Parliamentary Delegation Spilios Livanos, Athanasios Davakis, Marios Salmas, Manousos Voloudakis, Theodora Tzakri, Andreas Loverdos and Marios Katsis participated in the meetings of the  five NATO PA committees and the plenary session. 

The Hellenic Parliament's Web Portal uses cookies as specifically mentioned here